A strong second half sees off John Mitchels

There was a great turnout in Fr Breen Park yesterday for our county league battle against John Mitchels. We were quick off the mark when Jimmy Lehane curled one over with only 22 seconds gone but we shortly fell behind in the 4th minute when the Mitchels wing forward John Carmody beat Kieran Fitzgibbon for the away side’s first goal. Our reaction was quick as Darren Allman, Kevin O’Sullivan, and Jimmy all pointed to put us one ahead after 12 minutes. Scores were traded for the next 10 minutes and by the 25th minute the scoreboard had Mitchels up a point. An accidental knock to the head saw our fullback Tommy O’Sullivan replaced by Zack O’Shea just before halftime. Mitchels kicked over another point just before the break to leave the halftime score Kenmare Shamrocks 0-05 1-04 John Mitchels.

Whatever wise words were said by management in the dressing room at halftime worked as we came out in the second half and kicked 9 unanswered points (Pearse O’Brien 3, Kevin O’Sullivan 2, Darren Allman 2, David Hallissey 1, Zack O’Shea 1) by the 48th minute. In that time Mitchels did have their No.17 black carded, Jack O’Sullivan replaced Paraig Cronin and Jack Tagney came on for Tom Murnane. Pearse and Darren knocked over 2 more points and Tommy O’Sullivan (Atlantic – who came on for Cian O Sullivan) finished our scoring in the 26th minute with a well-taken point. Mitchels did have a mini-revival near the end when they got a second goal and a point but it was too late. We ran out comfortable winners with a very impressive second-half performance. Congratulations to the team and management and we wish Tommy O’Sullivan a speedy recovery.

Final Score – Kenmare Shamrocks 0-17 2-06 John Mitchels

Team: Kieran Fitzgibbon, Jamie Regan, Tommy O’Sullivan, Cian O’Sullivan, Padraic Cronin, Tommy Cronin, Dara O’Shea, David Hallissey (1pt), James McCarthy ©, Shane O’Sullivan, Kevin O’Sullivan (3pts), Jimmy Lehane (2pts), Pearse O’Brien(5pts), Tom Murnane, Darren Allman (4 pts).

Subs: Gearoid Doyle, Barry Fitzsimons, Conor Adams, Tommy O’Sullivan (1pt), Jack O’Sullivan, Zack O’Shea (1pt), Dylan Wallace, Tom Crushell, Cian Hanley, Liam Palmer, Donnacha Whelton, Jack Tangney, John O’Sullivan

Management – Kieran Moriarty, Mickey Ned O’Sullivan, Timmy Palmer, Colm O’Connor, John Sullivan (M).

Physiotherapist – Molly O’Brien