Opening day win in Ardfert

Our senior footballers got their Division 2 campaign off to a winning start last evening up in Ardfert. We got off to a great start with quick points from Shane O’Sullivan and Kevin (Arthur) before Ardfert replied with a point of their own. The first half was a close affair as both teams got to grips with the heavy ground conditions. We wasted several good scorings opportunities but still went in at halftime with a lead of 6 points to 4. Kevin hit the target with four frees and Shane got his second from play. Just to note that Pearse O’Brien was taken off halfway through the first half with a head injury and replaced by David Chuchu.

Half Time Ardfert 0-04 Kenmare Shamrocks 0-06

The home side got the first point of the second half, and this galvanized us into playing better. David Hallissey kicked over from play and Kevin did the same a minute later. After 15 minutes of the second half, the scoreline was Ardfert 0-05 0-10 Kenmare Shamrocks. Zack O’Shea and Jack O’Sullivan made the first senior county league appearance replacing the solid Padraic Cronin and Darren Allman. Kevin added another free on 17 minutes while Dara O’Shea and Tom Murnane kicked over some nice points from play. Conor Adams replaced David Chuchu.

Ardfert replied with two points of their own but like the first half, we finished the stronger with Jack and Tom both kicking over from play. The final score was Ardfert 0-08 0-15 Kenmare Shamrocks.

Well done to the team and management, it’s not easy coming away with two points from Ardfert. Our second half performance was better and defensively we were very solid. A good day all round as our B team had a great win away to John Mitchels B also.

Team: Kieran Fitzgibbon, Jamie Regan, Tommy O’Sullivan, Dara Crowley, Padraic Cronin, Tommy Cronin, Dara O’Shea (1pt), David Hallissey (1pt), James McCarthy ©, Shane O’Sullivan (2 pts), Kevin O’Sullivan (7 pts, 6 frees), Jimmy Lehane, Pearse O’Brien, Tom Murnane (3 pts), Darren Allman.

Subs: Gearoid Doyle, Barry Fitzsimons, David Ciuciu for Pearse O Brien, Conor Adams, Tommy O’Sullivan (Atlantic), Jack O’Sullivan (1pt), Zack O’Shea, Dylan Wallace, Tom Crushell, Cian Hanley, Liam Palmer, Donnacha Whelton, Jack Tangney.

Management – Kieran Moriarty, Mickey Ned O’Sullivan, Timmy Palmer, Colm O’Connor, John Sullivan (M).

Physiotherapist – Molly O’Brien

Leave a comment