SFL Match Report v St Mary’s

Credit Union Senior Football League

Div 2 – Rd 1

Kenmare Shamrocks 1-12 – 0-07 St Mary’s Cahersiveen

Congratulations to our senior footballers who had a strong win over St Mary’s Cahersiveen in Fr Breen Park today. This was the first round of our division two campaign and it ended with an 8-point victory. Kenmare were quicker out of the blocks and by the 16th minute had 5 points to no-score lead.  These came from the boot of Darren Allman (2 frees) Dara O’Shea, David Hallissey, and a long-distance effort by our goalkeeper and Captain Kieran Fitzgibbon.

From there to halftime, Jimmy Lehane and Tommy O’Sullivan Atlantic got on the scoresheet with well-taken points, Allman tapped over his third free, and in the 28th minute, David Hallissey hit the back on the net after a well-worked move out on the wing. St Mary’s did get on the scoreboard just before halftime with a free from Anthony Cournane.

Half Time Score Kenmare Shamrocks 1-08 St Marys 0-01

After a dry first half, the rain decided to fall for the start of the second, this made handling the ball more difficult for both sides. Darren Allman started where he left off in the first half, by pointing three frees in the 36th and 46th, and 50th minutes. In that time St Mary’s had kicked two of their own. Between there and the final whistle Tommy Atlantic kicked his second point but more importantly our keeper Kieran Fitz made two great saves ( a low shot and a diving save) which kept the away side at bay. St Mary’s never gave up and did finish the stronger tacking on four late points. We also brought on some fresh legs during that period, Conor Adams for Jamie O’Regan, Liam Palmer for David Cuicui, Darragh O’Sullivan for David Hallisey, and Ruairi O’Sullivan for Tommy Atlantic.

Well done to the team and the management, a good start to the 2023 league season.

Starting: 1. Kieran Fitzgibbon ©, 2. Dara Crowley, 3. Tommy O’Sullivan, 4. Cian O’Sullivan, 5. Dara O’Shea (1 pt), 6. Tommy Cronin,  7. Jamie O ’Regan, 8. Tom O’Sullivan (Atl, 2pts), 9. James McCarthy, 10. David Ciuciu (1pt), 11. David Hallissey (1-1), 12. Jimmy Lehane(1pt), 13. Darren Allman (6pts), 14. Kevin O’Sullivan, 15. Micheál McCarthy.

Fir Ionaid: 16. Vaughan O’Brien, 17. Gearoid Doyle, 18. Conor Adams, 19. Kevin O’Shea, 20. Liam Palmer, 21 Ruairi O’Sullivan, 22. Dylan Wallace, 23. Tom Crushell, 24. Darragh O’Sullivan, 25. Joe Doyle, 26. Eoghan McCarthy, 27. Kane Reidy, 28. Tom Quinlan, 29. Paraig Cronin, 30. John O’Sullivan, Darragh Hanley

Roghnoirí: Kieran Moriarty, Mickey Ned O’Sullivan, Timmy Palmer, Colm O’Connor. John Sullivan (M) Physio: Molly O’Brien

Referee: John Enright

Leave a comment